top of page
  • Writer's pictureRandi Hardy

Ether 12:27: The Truth Behind Our Weaknesses

Ether 12:27 is perhaps one of the most misquoted scriptures in the Book of Mormon. This means that many church members are probably misunderstanding the true meaning of weakness, or they are even believing false doctrine. So, what does the word “weakness” actually mean in this verse? And what is God saying?


We must first understand the context. Moroni was commanded to continue the record of the Book of Mormon, but he feared the Gentiles would mock the great things of God because of his inability to record them properly. The Lord’s response to Moroni was the following:


“And if men come unto me I will show unto them their weakness. I give unto men weakness that they may be humble, and my grace is sufficient for all men that humble themselves before me; for if they humble themselves before me, and have faith in me, then will I make weak things become strong unto them” (Ether 12:27).


Read the full article at thirdhour.org.

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Recovering from 2020

After last year, many are coming into 2021 skeptical and wary. I know several people who have avoided making the new year a big deal hoping to avoid jinxing anything. And I'll admit I've struggled mak

bottom of page